|>||Payroll by State|
|>||Small Business Calculators|
|>||Small Business Articles|
|>||Small Business Videos|
Did you know that on voting day, Massachusetts employers must allow employees to be away from work during the first two hours after the polls open?
Employers must pay employees covered by Massachusetts's minimum wage law at least $9.00 an hour. The minimum wage rate in Massachusetts cannot be less than the federal minimum wage plus $0.10.
Employers covered by Massachusetts's wage payment law must pay wages either weekly or biweekly. Wages must be paid not more than six days following the close of a pay period for employees working five or six days a week, not more than seven days after the close of a pay period for employees working seven days a week.Massachusetts Unemployment:
Massachusetts requires employers to withhold state income tax from employees' wages and remit the amounts withheld to the Department of Revenue.
Every employer must withhold Massachusetts tax from wages paid to residents wherever earned, and from wages paid to nonresidents for services performed within the state. Employers are required to withhold under federal law are required to withhold under state law.
All employers in Massachusetts must allow employees time off to vote. This summary is restricted to coverage of private employers. Employers must allow employees to be away from work during the first two hours after the polls open.