All Fields Required

e-verify expands 16 additional states - four guys with boxes with question marks over their heads holding cell phones up with right hand

E-Verify Program Expands to 16 Additional States

Posted On
Chris Bibey

While many employers and employees are familiar with the E-Verify program, including its benefits, this is not the case across the board. The Department of Homeland Security is looking to grow the popularity of the service, recently expanding it into 16 additional states.

Workers in the following states will now have access to the web based service:

  • California
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • Ohio
  • South Carolina
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Washington

These states join the following:

  • Arizona
  • Colorado
  • Idaho
  • Mississippi
  • Virginia
  • District of Columbia

What does the Service do?

The primary benefit of the E-Verify program is the ability for employers to verify employment eligibility. Here is a passage direct from the official E-Verify website:

"E-Verify is an Internet-based system that compares information from an employee's Form I-9, Employment Eligibility Verification, to data from U.S. Department of Homeland Security and Social Security Administration records to confirm employment eligibility."

To get a better idea of just how popular the system has become, consider the following:

  • It is used by more than 500,000 employers throughout the country
  • Approximately 1,400 new companies join every week

What about Workers?

In addition to employer benefits, employees have the option to create a personal account to take advantage of many features, such as those associated with identity protection. For example, an account holder can lock his or her Social Security number to prevent fraudulent use.

As of last year, only five states, along with the District of Columbia, supported the E-Verify program. On January 13, 2015, the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services announced the addition of 16 more states. It goes without saying that the government would like all 50 states to participate in the program at some point in the future.