Rhode Island Payroll Services
Get Your State ID
Click Here to Obtain State Tax ID
Click Here to Obtain State Unemployment Tax ID
Did you know Rhode Island mandates overtime pay?
- Rhode Island Compensation
- Rhode Island Payroll for Employers
- Rhode Island Income Tax Withholding
- Rhode Island Benefits
- Rhode Island Links
Rhode Island Compensation
Employees covered by Rhode Island's minimum wage law must be paid at least $9.60 an hour.
All employees are covered except those specifically exempt by statute; among those exempt are:
- outside salespersons;
- employees working for certain family members; and
- employees of certain seasonal resorts.
Rhode Island Payroll for Employers
Employers can pay wages on a weekly (or more frequent), biweekly, semimonthly, monthly, or yearly schedule. Hourly employees must be paid weekly.
Rhode Island Unemployment:
Taxable Wage Base ($000s): 22,400 except those in high tax group whose wage base will be 23,900
New Employer Rate (% Taxable Wages) 2.04
Employee Tax Rate (% Taxable Wages) None
Period Effective Calendar Year 2017
Rhode Island Income Tax Withholding
If a Rhode Island resident is subject to withholding in another state, the amount of that withholding may be used as a credit against their Rhode Island tax liability. As a convenience to Rhode Island residents working out of state, employers in other states may opt to withhold Rhode Island taxes.
Rhode Island Benefits
Rhode Island Voting Rights:
Employer Right to Schedule Voting Hours No
Pay Deduction for Voting Time Leave No
Rhode Island does not have a voting time leave law.
Rhode Island Links
SurePayroll, Inc. and its subsidiaries assume no liability and make no warranties on or for the information contained on these state payroll pages. The information presented is intended for reference only and is neither tax nor legal advice. Consult a professional tax, legal or other advisor to verify this information and determine if and/or how it may apply to your particular situation.