Georgia Payroll Services
Get Your State ID
Click Here to Obtain State Tax ID
Click Here to Obtain State Unemployment Tax ID
Did you know that nonresidents are subject to Georgia tax if they work in Georgia for more than 23 days in a calendar quarter, earn more than 5% of their wages in Georgia, or can attribute more than $5,000 of their wages to Georgia? That residents working out-of-state are exempt from Georgia income tax withholding if their compensation is subject to withholding in that state?
- Georgia Compensation
- Georgia Payroll for Employers
- Georgia Income Tax Withholding
- Georgia Benefits
- Georgia Links
Employees covered by Georgia's minimum wage law must be paid $5.15 an hour. Employees covered under the Fair Labor Standards Act must receive the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour.
All employees are covered except for:
- those working for employers with sales of $40,000 or less a year;
- farm owners, sharecroppers and land renters;
- those paid wholly or partially in tips; and
- high school and college students.
Georgia Payroll for Employers
Employers covered by Georgia's wage payment law must pay wages at least twice in a calendar month. All employees are covered, except those specifically exempt by statute; among those exempt are heads and subheads of departments or executives employed by the month or year.
Taxable Wage Base ($000s): 9,500
New Employer Rate (% Taxable Wages) 2.62
Employee Tax Rate (% Taxable Wages) None
Period Effective Calendar Year 2016
Georgia Income Tax Withholding
Georgia requires employers to withhold state income tax from employees' wages and remit the amounts withheld to the Department of Revenue.
Georgia residents working outside the state are exempt from Georgia income tax withholding if their compensation is subject to withholding in that state.
Georgia Voting Rights:
Employer Right to Schedule Voting Hours Yes
Pay Deduction for Voting Time Leave Not Specified
All employers in Georgia must allow employees time off to vote.
Georgia requires employers to allow employees sufficient leave time to vote if time is not available to them before or after work. Private employers must allow employees to take up to two hours of leave to vote. However, if employees have at least two hours before beginning work or after leaving work during which the polls are open, employers do not have to grant voting time leave.
SurePayroll, Inc. and its subsidiaries assume no liability and make no warranties on or for the information contained on these state payroll pages. The information presented is intended for reference only and is neither tax nor legal advice. Consult a professional tax, legal or other advisor to verify this information and determine if and/or how it may apply to your particular situation.
This website contains articles posted for informational and educational value. SurePayroll is not responsible for information contained within any of these materials. Any opinions expressed within materials are not necessarily the opinion of, or supported by, SurePayroll. The information in these materials should not be considered legal or accounting advice, and it should not substitute for legal, accounting, and other professional advice where the facts and circumstances warrant. If you require legal or accounting advice or need other professional assistance, you should always consult your licensed attorney, accountant or other tax professional to discuss your particular facts, circumstances and business needs.