Minnesota Payroll Services
All Fields Required
Minnesota Payroll Services
Get Your State ID
Did you know that employees covered under the Fair Labor Standards Act must be paid the federal minimum wage of $7.25 an hour instead of the state minimum wage of $6.15 an hour or $5.25 an hour for small employers?
- Minnesota Compensation
- Minnesota Payroll for Employers
- Minnesota Income Tax Withholding
- Minnesota Benefits
- Minnesota Links
Large employers covered by Minnesota's minimum wage law must pay employees at least $9.65 an hour and small employers must pay employees at least $7.87 an hour. Large employers are those whose annual gross volume of sales or business is at least $500,000. Employees covered under the Fair Labor Standards Act must receive the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour.
All employees are covered except for:
- salespersons with at least 80 percent of their sales made off their employers' premises;
- certain agricultural workers;
- cab drivers;
- those with qualifications and hours under the control of the U.S. Department of Transportation;
- seafarers; and
- members of religious orders.
Minnesota Payroll for Employers
Taxable Wage Base ($000s): 32,000
New Employer Rate (% Taxable Wages) 1.54
Employee Tax Rate (% Taxable Wages) None
Period Effective Calendar Year 2018
Minnesota Income Tax Withholding
Minnesota requires employers to withhold income tax from the wages of residents and nonresidents.
Every employer doing business in Minnesota must withhold state taxes from taxable wages paid to covered employees.
Minnesota has reciprocal agreements with Michigan and North Dakota, provided that nonresidents certify that they are eligible to receive tax credits for income taxes that will be paid to their state of residence. Minnesota residents working in Michigan and North Dakota are exempted from withholding and tax filing requirements for those states.
Employer Right to Schedule Voting Hours Yes
Pay Deduction for Voting Time Leave Prohibited
Minnesota requires employers to allow employees sufficient time off to vote. The law does not specify the amount of leave time employees must be granted.
SurePayroll, Inc. and its subsidiaries assume no liability and make no warranties on or for the information contained on these state payroll pages. The information presented is intended for reference only and is neither tax nor legal advice. Consult a professional tax, legal or other advisor to verify this information and determine if and/or how it may apply to your particular situation.
This website contains articles posted for informational and educational value. SurePayroll is not responsible for information contained within any of these materials. Any opinions expressed within materials are not necessarily the opinion of, or supported by, SurePayroll. The information in these materials should not be considered legal or accounting advice, and it should not substitute for legal, accounting, and other professional advice where the facts and circumstances warrant. If you require legal or accounting advice or need other professional assistance, you should always consult your licensed attorney, accountant or other tax professional to discuss your particular facts, circumstances and business needs.