New Jersey Payroll Services
All Fields Required
New Jersey Payroll Tax and Labor Laws
Get your New Jersey State Tax ID Number
Note: New Jersey is a "Joint Application" State. One application for one ID number that satisfies SIT and SUI requirements.
Did you know that under an agreement with Pennsylvania, New Jersey does not require withholding from wages, salaries and other compensation paid to Pennsylvania residents, provided a Certificate of Non-Residence is filed with the employer?
New Jersey Wage and Hour Laws
Employers must pay covered employees at least $12 an hour.
All employees are covered except for:
- those employed in an executive, administrative or professional capacity;
- outside salespersons;
- motor vehicle salespersons; and
- employees under age 18 not possessing a special vocational school graduate permit.
New Jersey Payroll for Employers
Taxable Wage Base ($000s): 36,200
New Employer Rate (% Taxable Wages) 2.6825
New Jersey Income Tax Withholding
New Jersey requires employers to withhold state income tax from employees' wages and remit the amounts withheld to the Division of Taxation.
All employers within the state that pay wages subject to withholding are required to withhold the state tax from the wages and salaries of both resident and nonresident employees.
New Jersey Benefits
Employer Right to Schedule Voting Hours No
Pay Deduction for Voting Time Leave No
New Jersey does not have a voting time leave law.
New Jersey State Tax Resources
This website contains articles posted for informational and educational value. SurePayroll is not responsible for information contained within any of these materials. Any opinions expressed within materials are not necessarily the opinion of, or supported by, SurePayroll. The information in these materials should not be considered legal or accounting advice, and it should not substitute for legal, accounting, and other professional advice where the facts and circumstances warrant. If you require legal or accounting advice or need other professional assistance, you should always consult your licensed attorney, accountant or other tax professional to discuss your particular facts, circumstances and business needs.