Oklahoma Payroll Services
Get Your State ID
Click Here to Obtain State Tax ID
Click Here to Obtain State Unemployment Tax ID
Did you know that under Oklahoma law, outside salespersons are exempt from the state's minimum wage of $7.25 an hour?
- Oklahoma Compensation
- Oklahoma Payroll for Employers
- Oklahoma Income Tax Withholding
- Oklahoma Benefits
- Oklahoma Links
Employers must pay covered employees at least $7.25 an hour.
All employees are covered except for:
- employees subject to the Fair Labor Standards Act or other federal wage and hour laws;
- those working in an executive, administrative, or professional capacity;
- outside salespersons;
- farm workers;
- employees of any carrier subject to Part I of the Interstate Commerce Act;
- students younger than 22;
- those younger than 18 who are not graduates of vocational or high school; and
- part-time employees working less than 25 hours per week and not on permanent status.
Oklahoma Payroll for Employers
Employers covered by Oklahoma's wage payment law must pay wages at least twice in a calendar month on regular paydays designated in advance. Regular paydays cannot be more than 11 days following the end of a pay period. Management employees, as defined under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act, must be paid at least once a month.
Taxable Wage Base ($000s): 17,700
New Employer Rate (% Taxable Wages) 1.5
Employee Tax Rate (% Taxable Wages) None
Period Effective Calendar Year 2017
Oklahoma Income Tax Withholding
Oklahoma requires employers to withhold state income tax from their employees' wages and remit the amounts withheld to the Withholding Tax Division, Oklahoma Tax Commission.
All employers paying wages subject to withholding are required to withhold state income tax from wages earned by resident employees within the state and from wages earned by nonresident employees in the state. If an Oklahoma resident earns wages outside the state subject to another jurisdiction's withholding, Oklahoma withholding is not required. However, should the other state not have an income tax law, the employer must withhold Oklahoma tax from those wages earned in that state.
Oklahoma Voting Rights:
Employer Right to Schedule Voting Hours Yes
Pay Deduction for Voting Time Leave Prohibited
Oklahoma requires employers, under certain conditions, to allow employees sufficient time off to vote.
All employers in Oklahoma must allow employees time off to vote if they do not have sufficient time to vote before or after work. This summary is restricted to coverage of private employers. Employers must grant up to two hours of leave for employees to vote. Employers located too far from the polls for employees to vote within two hours must grant sufficient time for employees to travel to and from the polls and to vote.
SurePayroll, Inc. and its subsidiaries assume no liability and make no warranties on or for the information contained on these state payroll pages. The information presented is intended for reference only and is neither tax nor legal advice. Consult a professional tax, legal or other advisor to verify this information and determine if and/or how it may apply to your particular situation.
This website contains articles posted for informational and educational value. SurePayroll is not responsible for information contained within any of these materials. Any opinions expressed within materials are not necessarily the opinion of, or supported by, SurePayroll. The information in these materials should not be considered legal or accounting advice, and it should not substitute for legal, accounting, and other professional advice where the facts and circumstances warrant. If you require legal or accounting advice or need other professional assistance, you should always consult your licensed attorney, accountant or other tax professional to discuss your particular facts, circumstances and business needs.