Utah Payroll Services
All Fields Required
Utah Payroll Tax and Labor Laws
Get your Utah State Tax ID Number
Did you know that employees covered by Utah's minimum wage law must be paid $7.25 an hour?
Utah Wage and Hour Laws
Employees covered by Utah's minimum wage law must be paid $7.25 an hour.
All employees are covered except for:
- outside salespersons;
- certain agricultural employees;
- certain seasonal employees;
- apprentices or students employed by an educational institution in which they are enrolled; and
- disabled individuals.
Utah Payroll for Employers
Employers covered by Utah's wage payment law must pay wages at least semimonthly and not more than 10 days following the close of a pay period or on the preceding day when a payday falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday. If employers hire employees on an annual salary basis, they can pay them on a monthly schedule.
All employees are covered, except those specifically exempt by statute; among those exempt are certain agricultural employees. Employees can enter into agreements with their employers that provide for different terms of payment than those specified under the law.
Household Filing In Utah
OneStop Business Registration currently does not allow registering a business that requires filing of annual employment taxes on Schedule H, Form 1040. To complete this action:
1. Contact the Utah Department of Workforce Services Unemployment Insurance Division and register as a domestic employer. Their web address is www.jobs.utah.gov/ui
2. Contact the Utah State Tax Commission. Download, review and complete (if applicable) the form TC-69, available at: www.tax.utah.gov/forms/current/tc-69.pdf and submit to the Tax Commission. For additional questions or information, call the Tax Commission at (801) 297-2200 or visit www.tax.utah.gov.
Taxable Wage Base ($000s): 38,900
New Employer Rate (% Taxable Wages) 1.2 - 5.8 (7.2 for new out of state contractors)
Utah Income Tax Withholding
Utah requires employers to withhold state income tax from their employees' wages and remit the amounts withheld to the State Tax Commission.
Employer Right to Schedule Voting Hours Yes
Pay Deduction for Voting Time Leave Time Off with Pay Limited to 2 Hours
All employers in Utah must allow employees time off to vote. This summary is restricted to coverage of private employers. Employers must permit employees to take two hours of leave to vote. Employers can specify the hours to be taken.
Utah State Tax Resources
This website contains articles posted for informational and educational value. SurePayroll is not responsible for information contained within any of these materials. Any opinions expressed within materials are not necessarily the opinion of, or supported by, SurePayroll. The information in these materials should not be considered legal or accounting advice, and it should not substitute for legal, accounting, and other professional advice where the facts and circumstances warrant. If you require legal or accounting advice or need other professional assistance, you should always consult your licensed attorney, accountant or other tax professional to discuss your particular facts, circumstances and business needs.