All Fields Required

Washington Payroll Services

Get Your State ID

Click Here to Obtain State Tax ID
Click Here to Obtain State Unemployment Tax ID

Did you know that under Washington law, sales representatives must be paid earned commission and all other money earned or payable under their contracts no later than 30 days after receipt of payment by their employers for products or goods sold by the sales representatives?

  • Washington Compensation
  • Washington Payroll for Employers
  • Washington Income Tax Withholding
  • Washington Benefits
  • Washington Links

​​Washington Compensation

Employees covered by Washington's minimum wage law must be paid at least $11.00 an hour.

All employees are covered except for:

  • individuals working in a professional, executive, or administrative capacity;
  • outside salespersons;
  • workers on call; and
  • carriers subject to Interstate Commerce Commission regulation.

Washington Payroll for Employers

Employers covered by Washington's wage payment law must pay wages at least monthly on regular paydays.

​Washington Unemployment:


Taxable Wage Base ($000s):                        45,000

New Employer Rate (% Taxable Wages)    90% of the average industry rate

Employee Tax Rate (% Taxable Wages)     None

Period Effective                                             Calendar Year 2017


Washington Income Tax Withholding

Washington has no state income tax.

Most employers are required to withhold state as well as federal income taxes from their employees' wages. Some cities, towns and school districts also impose taxes and require withholding. Only Alaska, Florida, Nevada, New Hampshire, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Washington and Wyoming have no state income tax.


Washington Benefits

​Washington Voting Rights:

Employer Right to Schedule Voting Hours         Yes

Pay Deduction for Voting Time Leave                 Time Off with Pay Limited to 2 Hours

Washington requires employers to allow employees sufficient time off to vote.

All employers in Washington must allow employees time off to vote. This summary is restricted to coverage of private employers. Employers must grant employees up to two hours of leave time, unless the employees have two hours of nonwork time to vote. Meals and rest periods cannot be counted as non-work time for voting purposes.

Washington Links


SurePayroll, Inc. and its subsidiaries assume no liability and make no warranties on or for the information contained on these state payroll pages. The information presented is intended for reference only and is neither tax nor legal advice. Consult a professional tax, legal or other advisor to verify this information and determine if and/or how it may apply to your particular situation.